ATEX product inquiries

Zone ATEX classification:

Hazardous areas are classified into zones based on the possibility of occurrence of an explosive atmosphere.

It is the obligation of the owner or the operator of a facility to ensure that the zone classification is done by authorized personnel.

  • Zone 0 (gases) zone 20 (dust): Flammable material present continuously or for long periods.
  • Zone 1 (gases) zone 21 (dust): Flammable material present occasionally in normal operation.
  • Zone 2 (gases) zone 22 (dust): Flammable material present in abnormal conditions only for short periods.

 The Atex product from Delvalle are certificated in zone 1, 2, 21 and 22.

The ATEX directive:

Directive 94/9/EC is commonly referred to as the ATEX (“Atmosphères Explosibles”) products directive. Its objective is to eliminate or minimize the risks resulting from the use of certain products in or in relation to a potentially explosive atmosphere.

The ATEX product directive is a total harmonization directive meaning that its provisions replace existing divergent national and European legislation which cover the same subjects as stipulated by the ATEX product directive.

The ATEX products directive applies in the countries of the European Union as well as in Liechtenstein, Iceland and Norway

 IECEx, Internacional Certification Scheme:

The IECEx certification scheme simplifies global trade with, as well as maintenance of, equipment intended for use in explosive atmospheres. The IECEx scheme is voluntary. It is managed by the IEC, a standardization organization, and based on global acceptance of test reports by the member states.

Certification is based on requirements in specific international IEC standards for explosion protected equipment.

ATEX product